Jordan Rakei Gears Up to Release His Sophomore Album, Wallflower [Audio]

Photo: Hollie Fernando

With his sophomore album around the corner, it is fair to say Jordan Rakei has been putting in some serious work! The New Zealand born, Australian raised multi-instrumentalist started sharing songs last month, hinting toward a formal release. “Sorcesess” was the first taste, which bared an acoustic sound highlighting his meandering vocal style. The mid-tempo “Nerve,” the second installment where he sings, “How can I find a reason to love you, when I don’t love myself?” And now with “Goodbyes” he reveals a reoccurring theme of pained relationships. In fact he says, “Goodbyes‘s about totally investing your love and energy into someone in the early stages of a relationship, but those feelings might not be reciprocated.” Rakei’s journey through making Wallflower has been a therapeutic, facing inner demons and coming out on the other side inspired and stronger.

Below are his US and Europe tour dates. Be sure to catch him in your town; Muphoric Sounds will be at the Mercury Lounge dates. Holla!

TOUR DATES
Friday, Sept 15 – Rough Trade, Brooklyn, USA
Saturday, Sept 16 – Mercury Lounge, New York, NY, USA
Sunday, Sept 17 – Mercury Lounge, New York, NY, USA
Tuesday, Sept 19 – Constellation Room at the Observatory, Santa Ana, CA, USA
Wednesday, Sept 20 – Troubadour, West Hollywood, CA, USA
Friday, Sept 22 – Popscene @ Rickshaw Stop, San Francisco, CA, USA
Wednesday, Oct 11 – O2 Institute3, Birmingham, UK
Thursday, Oct 12 – Thekla, Bristol, UK
Friday, Oct 13 – The Haunt, Brighton, UK
Monday, Oct 16 – Manchester Gorilla, Manchester, UK
Tuesday, Oct 17 – Rescue Rooms, Nottingham, UK
Wednesday, Oct 18 – Belgrave Music Hall & Canteen, Leeds, UK
Friday, Oct 20 – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire, London, UK
Friday, Oct 27 – Säälchen, Berlin, Germany
Saturday, Oct 28 – Uebel & Gefahrlich, Hamburg, Germany
Sunday, Oct 29 – VEGA Musikkens Hus – Ideal Bar, Copenhagen, Denmark
Tuesday, Oct 31 – Melkweg, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Wednesday, Nov 1 – BIRD, Rotterdam, Netherlands
Thursday, Nov 2 – Balzaal Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium
Friday, Nov 3 – Gebäude 9, Cologne, Germany
Sunday, Nov 5 – Ampere, Munich, Germany
Tuesday, Nov 7 – Exil, Zürich, Switzerland
Thursday, Nov 9 -Badaboum, Paris, France
Thursday, Nov 16 – Alte Feuerwache, Mannheim, Germany

Visit Jordan’s website to pre-order the Wallflower, released through Ninja Tune.

The following two tabs change content below.

Roseann V. Warren

Founder + Editorial Director at Muphoric Sounds
Roseann V. Warren is a Brooklyn, NY based freelance writer and developmental book editor, who proudly calls herself a member of the Prince army, and believes Hersey's chocolate is a crime. Follow her @webdiva3000