Van Hunt – “Old Hat” (Audio)

Every Van Hunt release is an example of evolution – through his musicianship, his songwriting, and overall growth as a person, which amazingly shines through on every album. In a direct-to-fan initiative through Pledge Music, Van Hunt launched a campaign for his second independently released album, The Fun Rises. From exploring his old record collection and print magazines, he rediscovered the classics in funk, jazz, soul, and fashion icons, and was deeply inspired to work on a new album. The first single, “Old Hat” sounds like the perfect next step after his last album What Were You Hoping For? which took us on a rock n roll journey. Van describes The Fun Rises as “love, loss, and nostalgia delivered through the sounds of original funk and old soul.” Don’t know about you, but we are certainly looking forward to the new album, scheduled to release May 1st on Godless-Hotspot/Thirty Tigers.

The Fun Rises, The Fun Sets tracklist:
01 “Vega (stripes on)”
02 “Old Hat”
03 “Pedestal”
04 “Teach Me A New Language”
05 “(let It) Soak (n)”
06 “…Puddin’”
07 “She Stays With Me”
08 “Headroom”
09 “French For Cloud (cstbu)”
10 “Rub My Feet (suddenly)”
11 “Emotional Criminal”
12 “If I Wanna Dance With You”
13 “A Woman Never Changes”
14 “The Fun Rises, The Fun Sets.”

The Fun Rises, The Fun Sets is out 5/4 via Godless-Hotspot/Thirty Tigers.

The following two tabs change content below.

Roseann V. Warren

Founder + Editorial Director at Muphoric Sounds
Roseann V. Warren is a Brooklyn, NY based freelance writer and developmental book editor, who proudly calls herself a member of the Prince army, and believes Hersey's chocolate is a crime. Follow her @webdiva3000